All posts

AN UNSWEET LIFE: WHY IT IS IMPORTANT NOT TO LOSE POSITIONS WITH A GROWING NUMBER OF COMPETITORS

16 August

Interview with Maria Petchenko, co-founder of Peroni, for Forbes magazine, 08/02/2017. Read on Forbes.ru

How to launch a successful project without falling into the trap of forgeries and attacks of ill-wishers

In 2013, we launched a new product on the market – honey soufflé. Consumers asked a million questions, and the networks did not even understand which department to put it in, so it was possible to sell only through tastings. There was no competition, as well as sales. After about six months or a year, the situation began to change dramatically – the number of those who “tried it – liked it – told their friends – bought more” increased and the product began to be successfully sold in stores.

Analogs began to appear immediately: someone copied everything one to one, someone took only the name and idea and improved it a little, someone went further and include creativity. Now, after 4 years, there are so many analogues that consumers get confused, and having tried low-quality analogues, they are disappointed in the product. What you need to do to protect yourself and your idea from complete dissolution and disappearance?

Protect all smart and visual designs as much as possible

Find a trusted patent attorney and register your trademark, visual identity, technology, design. For example, we have registered our packaging and have now officially filed a claim for very similar analogues. Yes, in Russia and all over the world it is difficult to defend their rights, even the Louboutins could not everywhere patent the red sole of the shoes. But nevertheless, this will create an additional barrier, and if it does not bring large capital, then at least it will scare off completely unscrupulous competitors.

Work through all the points of contact

The theater begins with a hanger, and contact with a company can begin with a business card, letter, contract template, manager’s call – everything is important, and there are no trifles. An expensive jacket differs from a cheap one primarily in the quality of the lining and seams where no one sees it. From inconspicuous little things, the brand image is formed. This often does not require material costs, but only attention. For example, you can attach a personalized postcard with thanks for the order, personally signed by the director, into the package. Then the order becomes not just a package, but something personal. There is a very good book by Igor Mann on this topic, Points of Contact.

Trust is the most valuable currency

Nowadays few people believe in advertising; a new currency is being used – “trust” in the product and the company. Whoever has confidence is on horseback. When choosing a hotel for travel, we first of all look at reviews. We trust people, so it doesn’t make sense to spend tons of money on glossy magazine pages and TV ads, especially if you’re a startup. Invest in word of mouth, reviews on popular sites – otzovik, irecommend, yandex.market, reviews on various thematic sites. And these should be really honest reviews – you have a good product. You just need to give people the opportunity to share their impressions of it. Trust is important not only for consumers, but also for partners. If your reputation is clean, you have perfect contracts with suppliers and networks – this is a huge competitive advantage. People are working everywhere, and your first priority is to establish friendly and trusting relationships with them. For example, we got to GUM, Tsvetnoy, Komus without a penny of investments only because we found a common language with the buyers and are still friends. And the excellent manager of the glass factory provides us with an exclusive for gold wire for cans and transparent silicone.

Confirm the quality by all available means

Most people pay attention to regalia and awards. Participate in competitions, exhibitions, awards. Do research, get certificates, diplomas.

Engage influencers

In every segment of the market there are those who are trusted and want to be like. You need to try to establish contact with them and captivate them with your idea. They can be stars, bloggers, scientists, writers. And do not think that they are inhabitants of heaven and will not condescend to communicate with you. We even treated the Prince of Kent with honey-soufflé, and he promised to give it to his cousin, Queen Elizabeth II. And the most wonderful story happened to us with the culinary studio of Julia Vysotskaya – we met 4 years ago by chance with the studio manager in the elevator – we helped carry heavy bags, got into conversation and this is how our joint project began.

Even if they copy you, they are always one step behind

Many people copy only the shell, but they don’t understand how and why it was done. But you understand and can develop your idea further. Introduce new items, additional services or goods, offer complex solutions. For example, the history of the iPhone is indicative – while competitors were copying external attributes, Apple went ahead with leaps and bounds, releasing more and more new chips, updates, additions. But, as soon as he stopped offering super-new items, competitors began to catch up and even overtake. Advice for those who are not the first in the market – even if you enter an existing market – you can easily apply all the same points and break out into the leaders or occupy your own niche.

Focus

If your segment is already busy or saturated, you don’t have to strive to embrace the immensity and compete with monsters – you can choose your niche and become the best in it. As Jack Trout said, “differentiate or die.” You probably remember the success of CheapTrip – in the crowded travel agency market, they successfully occupied the niche of the cheapest tours and were insanely popular. But don’t overdo it – you need to consider the size of the market. Raw-food eco-kosher bread is certainly great, but there will be about 10 consumers in Moscow.

If you cannot win – unite!

Sometimes it’s easier for competitors to unite and make a profitable collaboration than to fight to the last, drawing all the juices out of each other. We believe that unification now is an upward and very healthy trend. Borders are blurring and the world is becoming multipolar. It’s not for nothing that Yandex.Taxi and Uber have teamed up. Finally, I would like to remind you of the tale about the lion and the antelope. Somewhere in Africa, an antelope wakes up every morning. She knows that she must run faster than the fastest lion from the neighboring pride, otherwise she will be eaten. Somewhere in Africa, a lion wakes up every morning. He knows that he needs to run faster than the slowest antelope in a nearby herd, otherwise he will die of hunger. It doesn’t matter who you are – an antelope or a lion. The sun has risen – we must run!

Source link: Forbes.ru

Back To Top

Все записи

Несладкая жизнь: почему важно не сдать позиции при нарастающем количестве конкурентов

16 августа

Интервью Марии Петченко, со-основателя компании «Peroni», для журнала Forbes от  02.08.2017 

Как запустив успешный проект, не попасть в ловушку подделок и атак недоброжелателей

В 2013 году мы выпустили на рынок новый продукт — мед-суфле. Потребители задавали миллион вопросов, а сети не понимали даже, в какой отдел его ставить, поэтому продавать получалось только через дегустации. Конкуренции не было, как и продаж. Примерно через полгода-год ситуация начала резко меняться — количество тех, кто «попробовал — понравилось — рассказали друзьям — купили еще» выросло и продукт стал успешно продаваться в магазинах.

Сразу же стали появляться аналоги: кто-то копировал все один в один, кто-то брал только название и идею и немного дорабатывал, кто-то шел дальше и включал креатив. Сейчас, через 4 года, аналогов стало так много, что потребители путаются, и попробовав низкокачественные аналоги, разочаровываются в продукте. Что делать чтобы обезопасить себя и свою идею от полного растворения и исчезновения?

Максимально защитите все интеллектуальные и визуальные разработки

Найдите проверенного патентного поверенного и зарегистрируйте вашу торговую марку, визуальный образ, технологию, дизайн. Мы зарегистрировали, например, нашу упаковку и сейчас официально подали иск на совсем схожие аналоги. Да, в России и во всем мире сложно отстаивать свои права, даже Лабутены не везде смогли запатентовать красную подошву у туфель. Но тем не менее это создаст дополнительный барьер, и если и не принесет больших капиталов, то по крайней мере — отпугнет совсем недобросовестных конкурентов.

Проработайте все точки контакта

Театр начинается с вешалки, а контакт с компанией может начаться с визитки, письма, шаблона договора, звонка менеджера — важно все, и мелочей тут нет. Дорогой пиджак от дешевого отличается прежде всего качеством подкладки и швов там, где никто не видит. Из незаметных мелочей и складывается образ бренда. Для этого часто не требуется материальных затрат, а только внимание. Например, можно вложить в пакет именную открытку с благодарностью за заказ, подписанную лично директором. Тогда заказ становится уже не просто посылкой, а чем-то личным. На эту тему есть очень хорошая книга Игоря Манна «Точки контакта».

Доверие — самая ценная валюта 

Сейчас мало, кто верит рекламе, в ход идет новая валюта — «доверие» к продукту и компании. У кого доверие, тот и на коне. Выбирая отель для путешествия, мы в первую очередь смотрим отзывы. Мы верим людям, поэтому нет смысла тратить кучу денег на полосы в глянцевых журналах и рекламу на ТВ, особенно если вы стартап. Вложитесь в сарафанное радио, в отзывы на популярных сайтах — otzovik, irecommend, yandex.market, обзоры на различных тематических площадках. Причем это должны быть действительно честные отзывы — у вас же хороший продукт. Нужно только дать возможность людям поделиться впечатлением о нем. Важно доверие не только конечных потребителей, но и партнеров. Если ваша репутация чиста, у вас идеальные контракты с поставщиками и сетями — это огромное конкурентное преимущество. Везде работают люди, и ваша первоочередная задача — наладить дружеские и доверительные отношения с ними. Например, в ГУМ, «Цветной», «Комус» мы попали без копейки вложений только потому, что нашли общий язык с закупщиками и дружим до сих пор. А прекрасный менеджер стекольного завода обеспечивает нам эксклюзив на золотую проволоку для банок и прозрачный силикон.

Подтверждайте качество всеми доступными средствами

Уже, конечно, меньше, но все же в большинстве своем люди верят регалиям и наградам. Участвуйте в конкурсах, выставках, премиях. Проводите исследования, получайте сертификаты, дипломы.

Привлекайте лидеров мнений

В каждом сегменте рынка есть те, кому доверяют и хотят быть похожими. Нужно постараться установить с ними контакт и увлечь их своей идеей. Это могут быть звезды, блоггеры, ученые, писатели. И не думайте что они небожители и не снизойдут до общения с вами. Мы даже Принца Кентского медом-суфле угощали, и он обещал передать его своей двоюродной сестре — королеве Елизавете II.  А самая замечательная история произошла у нас с кулинарной студией Юлии Высоцкой — мы познакомились 4 года назад случайно с менеджером студии в лифте — помогли донести тяжелые сумки, разговорились и так начался наш совместный проект.

Даже если вас копируют, то они всегда на шаг позади

Многие копируют только оболочку, не понимая как и зачем это сделано. Но вы ведь понимаете и можете развить свою идею дальше. Вводите новинки, дополнительные услуги или товары, предлагайте комплексные решения. Например, показательна история iPhone — пока конкуренты копировали внешние атрибуты, Apple семимильными шагами шел дальше, выпуская все новые и новые фишки, обновления, дополнения. Но, как только он перестал предлагать супер-новинки, конкуренты стали догонять и даже обгонять. Совет для тех, кто не первый на рынке — даже если вы выходите на существующий рынок —  вы запросто можете применить все те же пункты и выбиться в лидеры или занять свою нишу.

Фокусируйтесь

Если ваш сегмент уже занят или насыщен, то не обязательно стремиться объять необъятное и тягаться с монстрами — вы можете выбрать свою нишу и стать в ней лучшим. Как говорил Джек Траут, «дифференцируйся или умирай». Вы наверняка помните успех CheapTrip — на переполненном рынке турагентств они успешно заняли нишу самых дешевых туров и были безумно популярны. Но не переборщите с этим — нужно учитывать емкость рынка. Сыроедные эко-кошерные хлебцы — это конечно здорово, но потребителей в Москве будет человек 10.

Не можете победить — объединяйтесь!

Иногда конкурентам проще объединиться и сделать выгодную коллаборацию, чем биться до последнего, вытягивая все соки друг из друга. Мы верим, что объединение сейчас — это восходящий и очень здоровый тренд. Границы стираются и мир становится многополярным. Не зря же Яндекс.такси и Uber объединились. Напоследок хочу напомнить сказку про льва и антилопу. Где-то в Африке каждое утро просыпается антилопа. Она знает, что ей надо бегать быстрее самого быстрого льва из соседнего прайда, иначе ее съедят. Где-то в Африке каждое утро просыпается лев. Он знает, что ему надо бегать быстрее самой медленной антилопы в соседнем стаде, иначе он умрет от голода. Неважно, кто вы — антилопа или лев. Солнце взошло — надо бежать!

Ссылка на источник: Forbes.ru

Back To Top